h1

Christian Leaders and the BLING BLING

November 14, 2007

A CNN video article reported that several of Americas TV evangelists are under investigation for how they handle funds that are donated to their ministries (non-profit organizations)

Hmm. It’s an interesting time when outspoken Christian leaders find themselves under investigation for financial things. I’m not sure how to feel about this. I don’t think there is anything wrong with being well off, but where do we draw the line in the sand and say driving a Bentley, as a pastor, is too much?

3 comments

  1. that is waaaay wrong. I will not say I read the bible and I only know a few versus, but CNN told one of pastor about the versus from the bible that goes something like, “a camel can get through an eye of a needle faster than a rich man can get into heaven”. so if you are religious you are not supposed to love money. Pastors are supposed to give it to charities and others who need it. They should not drive Bentleys.

    p.s. “No one can serve two masters. The person will hate one master and love the other or will follow one master and refuse to follow the other. You cannot serve both God and worldly riches”


  2. We could have a compromise. They can drive whatever they want, but they must give up their tax-exempt status. And call it a “cult-based business” instead of a “religion.”

    Two little changes, I’d be perfectly OK with that.


  3. I love tekel’s post! Touche! This is one of those areas where I think that it makes sense that He said, ‘with what measure you use, the same will be used for you’. If you go to church and drive a bentley, its got to be okay for the pastor to drive one too. So the only reason the pastor should be expected to drive a piece of poop is if you drive one when you can afford better. The pastor is not some foreign animal but simply a part of the body of christ. The real heat of this issue is just what tekel said; are some ‘godly’ people defrauding the masses just so that they can live cushy lives? Sure. We call them selfish manipulators and God says that vengence is his. The funnest thing about ‘scandals’ like these though is that they provide the same comforting cloak that Jerry Springer does. ‘Looking at all these horrible/stupid/selfish people make me feel good about me.’ -And since I feel good about me, I don’t have to assess my values and question the validity of spending $250 on a Wii versus giving it to the poor. Cha-ching! I’m loving it!



Leave a Reply

